IET Faraday Challenge National Finals 2017

Categories: News

On the 26th of August 2017, SIX teams from different schools took part in an 21193036_1672444449440851_4471834033837335041_n


21078769_1672448752773754_4778213129313511852_n; “Mission to Mars” which was organized by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) Brunei with the collaboration of the Oil and Gas Discovery Centre (OGDC) at the Times Square Shopping Centre atrium.

The representatives were the Seri Mulia Sarjana School, Chung Hwa Middle School Kuala Belait, Maktab Sains Paduka Seri Beginda Sultan, St. John’s School Kuala Belait, St. George’s School and International School Brunei (ISB). The teams were to design prototype solutions using DIY materials and to solve engineering problems in Mars. With this challenge, it gives the students understandings of the roles and responsibilities of being in an engineering team. Each team was then required to present and demonstrate their creation to the panel of judges followed up with questions and answers session.

At the end of the challenge, the teams from Maktab Sains Paduka Seri Baginda Sultan were declared the champions of the IET Faraday Challenge National Finals of 2017 with an award of $1,000 BND. The 2nd runner up goes to Team 4 which is Seri Mulia Sarjana School who brought home a $500 BND and the 3rd runner up go to Team 5 which is Chung Hwa Middle School Kuala Belait with an amount of $300 BND. The prize was presented by Mr Simon Leong Kian Ann, the IET Brunei Darussalam Honorary Chairman.

Leave a Reply